Skip to content Back to Top

David G. Stone Awards

The awards are named for David G. Stone, a former Deputy Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development and long-time vice-chair of the AWIB. During his career in public service, Mr. Stone was instrumental in advancing CTE, Registered Apprenticeship, and workforce development opportunities for all Alaskans. Since his death in 2012, the awards have carried his name in recognition of his dedication to workforce development and promoting Alaska hire

Current Recipients:

David G. Stone K-12 Career and Technical Education Instructor/Administrator of the Year:
Matthew “Taw” Lindsey, Principal, Metlakatla High School

David G. Stone Postsecondary Instructor/Administrator of the Year:
Xiomara Owens, Behavioral Health Aide Program Manager, Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium

David G. Stone Employer of the Year:
Tanana Chiefs Conference