

Alaska Workforce Investment Board Committee Roster

Executive

The Executive Committee has the authority to take action on behalf of the board and supervises its affairs between regular business meetings.

Jim Lynch, Chair Michelle Zenger, Vice Chair Doug Ward, Jim Laiti, Ken Peltier Linda Hulbert, Chris Gregg

Staff: Louise Dean

Legislative

The Legislative Committee coordinates with the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development to bring forth issues about the board to the legislature.

Linda Hulbert, Chair
John MacKinnon

DOLWD Liaison: Paula Scavera, Staff: Louise Dean

Workforce Readiness and Employment & Placement

The Workforce Readiness Committee provides oversight for training, education and employment programs. This committee builds partnerships between private industry, government, labor, and education.

The Employment & Placement Committee monitors the coordination of service delivery to promote efficiency and prevent overlap of services among programs. Specifically, it addresses customer needs at the local level, welfare to work initiatives, Alaska hire, and tailors employment and training programs to suit Alaska's workforce, and economic development needs.

Doug Ward, Chair
John Cannon, Kathy Craft,
Helen Mehrkens, Joey Merrick,
Michelle Zenger

Staff: Jason Bluhm

Policy & Planning

The Policy & Planning Committee crafts policies regarding day-to-day operations of the workforce system and long-term responsibilities of the board and works to increase awareness of the AWIB throughout the state.

Jim Laiti, *Chair* Linda Hulbert, Fred Villa, Pearl Strub

Staff: Louise Dean

Assessment & Evaluation

The Assessment & Evaluation Committee gauges customer satisfaction and monitors the workforce development system to increase accountability in performance and continuous quality improvement in accordance with the board's strategic plan.

Ken Peltier, Chair Martin Anderson Staff: Louise Dean

Youth Council

The Youth Council develops and recommends employment and training policy and broadens the employment and training focus in the community and practice for young people; establishes linkages with other organizations serving young people; and addresses issues that can have an impact on the success of young people in the labor market.

Chris Gregg, Chair Mike Woods, Vice Chair Barbara Hunt, Barbara Smith, Noelle Hardt, Barbara Henjum, Maria Carter, Taber Rehbaum, Ruth Schoenleben

Ex-officio members: Shane Bannarbie Housing Authority Designee: Tammy Steele Staff: Jason Bluhm